Deep winter – a lesson in colour

Yesterday morning the light in the back room surprised me so much I thought the neighbours must have cut a tree down. But it was just winter and the leafless limbs were letting the low sun in and I was happily home to appreciate at it.

By evening it was chilly again and the sky gave me a colour lesson. Marco said I paint with a lot of cool tones and I should bring in more warmth – but I always think purply blue is warm – and then Hilmi showed me how burnt sienna will warm and deepen shadows far more than adding more blue ever will. But the cool / warm tone concept still eluded me.

Although the colour wheel and I have been great mates ever since I could say the colours of the rainbow, the use of colour and mixing in painting seems to me to be another mysterious thing in art making altogether – it is a kind of alchemy.

So I had to grab this photo across the backyard which shows the warm yellow of the house light against the cool purple blue sky. Sorry for being such a slow pupil – penny drops…

1-IMG_2199

This small chart also makes the point quite clear so I’m not sure why it isn’t just obvious.

 

warm-wheel

There is also an interesting description and examples of use of warm colours in design on the design shack website. https://designshack.net/articles/inspiration/how-to-use-warm-color-in-design-projects/

Now it’s off to painting today and another effort to balance cool and warm.

Exciting stuff .

 

2 thoughts on “Deep winter – a lesson in colour

  1. Hi Kate – I was sitting at the computer and suddenly looked up to see this great inky sky. The proportion is so right – the tilt of the planet and what wavelength it lets in means we get more blue in the south in winter – there’s a reference to it in the article which rings a bell. It’s half a century or so since I did any physics so you’d want to get a fact check on that. <:

    Like

  2. That’s a great shot, and shows how the eye explains the ambient environment to the brain. That image says cold in a way no tropical twilight image ever will, even though the same colours may be present. I think it’s proportions, how much of which colour…

    Like

Leave a Reply

