Trafalgar Square & Mrs Dalloway

From the shelter of the National Gallery I found an unexpected line of view and Nelson watching the weather – as he would. 

A sudden shower sent people running for cover, emptying Trafalgar Square in a moment.

(I suppose whenever I had been to the National Gallery before I had always headed eagerly to the galleries inside.)

The square soon refilled as the rain squall passed and the sun returned.

***

Of course I’d been thinking about London because of Mrs Dalloway and imagining all those places again. I took these pics last year when I was there again all too briefly.

But she’s extraordinarily attractive, he thought, as, walking across Trafalgar Square in the direction of Haymarket came a young woman who, as she passed Gordon’s statue seemed, Peter Walsh thought (susceptible as he was) to shed veil after veil…

from Mrs Dalloway, Virginia Woolf

A bit more on the Gordon Statue and Peter Walsh is written here: http://dallowaytheblog.blogspot.com.au/2012/09/gordons-statue.html

Such a wonderful read (had to keep going after doing ‘To the Lighthouse’) and a useful reminder to keep a watch over your shoulder for random old men next time you’re in Trafalgar Square.

Sudden shower Trafalgar Square

Sudden shower –  Trafalgar Square

Sudden shower - Trafalgar Square

After the squall – Trafalgar Square – from the National Gallery

4 thoughts on “Trafalgar Square & Mrs Dalloway

    • Hi – I’m quite a late comer to Virginia Woolf. I thought I had read her books via osmosis – all my friends at school and Uni did literature and talked about what they were reading – while I was dosing my brain on physics and biochemistry. So this is a good readjustment of humanity to my cold empirical heart.

      Like

Leave a Reply

