WordPress and the dangers of reading Freud

I have made the terrible WordPress equivalent of, at worst, a Freudian slip and, at best, a simple faux pas.

In my defence, I am an unchaperoned novice in the field of philosophy and psychoanalysis let loose on the internet.

Surely it is not safe to read Freud and to then simply log on to WordPress and start looking at pictures of flowers and such objects – laden as they are with all sorts of hidden meaning and symbolism ready to set alight the minds of the feeble.

A flower

Is this just a flower? or Why did I take this photo with my father’s camera in my mother’s garden?

After my new found studies on Freud, my sense of understanding – which previously was based on the usual snippets of general knowledge – is coalescing into something darker and far more dangerous.

So it was that I came across a delightful post of an old botanical wall chart distinguishing different types of acorns. The blogger of this charming horticultural information had no way of knowing that on the other side of the world lurked a deeply disturbed woman.

An unusually phallic acorn from the Californian region immediately caught my eye and there and then I made some schoolgirl comment – thinking naturally that all viewers would immediately be so amused by my observation. However it is possible that my details are being passed to Homeland Security as I write.

At least this little journey has sent me back out across WordPress land to find other bloggers who might at least recognise this type of problem and perhaps be able to offer professional advice at a small fee.

Acknowledging my repressed state, I of course apologise profusely, defer to my parents for all my shortcomings and possibly also blame Professor Michael Roth – as I have now made some transference to him as a paternal figure in my education.

It’s all going to be very strange from here on I’m sure as we move on to study Woolf.

**

There is currently an exhibition about Women and the Mind Doctors in London’s Freud Museum for those who want to tackle the great  question ‘What the (insert extra words) do women want?’ http://medicalhumanities.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/exhibition-at-londons-freud-museum-mad-bad-and-sad-women-and-the-mind-doctors/

From the website:
Inspired by Lisa Appignanesi’s acclaimed book, Mad, Bad and Sad: Women and the Mind Doctors from 1800 to the Present, the exhibition highlights the experience of women and their relationship to those who confined, cared for and listened to them.  It also shows how women today conduct their own explorations of mind and imagination in challenging works of art.

Image from Dr Freud’s Cabaret – new blog – drfreudscabaret.wordpress.com

Acorn image from honest-food.net

10 thoughts on “WordPress and the dangers of reading Freud

    • Dear Rudy – Thanks for your kind comment. I think once upon a time I might have knocked together an essay but now? Not so sure. At the moment I’m doing a course with Prof Roth plus about 30000 other people I think. Our Uni signed up to be a member of Coursera so I thought I should ‘test’ one of the online courses and see how they were designed. I thought it would be fairly dull – having done those awful online training programs from work from time to time. (Unexpectedly) I am enjoying it tremendously. I have just checked and Prof Roth is running another course on the Social Good from Jan 2014 if you want to sign up. It’s free – except for your commitment of time but he is absolutely an amazing tutor. https://www.coursera.org/courses?orderby=upcoming&search=wesleyan
      Sorry if this reads like an ad but it’s just some honest feedback and I’d encourage you to take a look – nothing to lose.

      Like

      • Thank you so much…this sounds great. I was going to write him, for we both wrote reviews on a book a couple years ago…our reviews were incredibly different about the same book…fascinating. (I didn’t think much of the book from a clinician’s perspective, but his more intellectual, philosophical standpoint was far kinder to the authors…
        I will look at the course right now. Thanks again.

        Like

    • I always loved ‘Just a Minute’ and only just put two and two together that all these Freuds are directly related. Lucian is probably my favourite Freud – wonder what his Granddad would make of his work?

      Like

  1. Personally, I’d give Freud a miss. I think he was an imaginative guy, fascinated by his culture and searching for a new religion. If you are interested in how consciousness works, read something up to date, such as Daniel Bor’s book The Ravenous Brain, more useful, less damaging.

    Like

    • Hi Hilary – I do blame Professor Roth for his wit and enthusiasm on the subject infecting the unaware (in a good way)!
      We’re on a journey from modernism to post-modernism in the course at the moment, so Freud is part of the puzzle of the emergent views which shaped society into the 20th Century. In part it’s the history and transition of that time that I’m really loving getting a handle on. Freud’s pursuit of the internal cosmos is described as a central human theses alongside the exploration of the outer cosmos by Copernicus and the dissection of the external earth and biology by Darwin (this was in the editorial of one of the books on Freud’s writing on Art and Literature which I quite liked.) Thanks for the suggestion of another writer – that is great. I’m heading toward the 21st Century and hope to track down whatever I can – if my brain can hold out that long. :>

      Like

Leave a Reply

