Good art keeps you warm – Andy Goldsworthy and Environmental Art

Good art keeps you warm..’ Andy Goldsworthy

Challenge for this week was to create a transient artwork in a public space using only the materials found in the environment.

With tutorials on Jeanne-Claude and Christo as a benchmark, it was just a little bit intimidating to decide where to start.

Some of their works were 20 years in the planning.

Sometimes when I draw or paint in public, people are quite nice and stop and chat. Other times I feel they quite studiously keep their distance ..

So I found doing something a little more unusual – albeit very simple – to be quite a challenge. Of course Melbourne is no stranger to people doing strange arty things.

My simple effort below was inspired by the superbly marked leaves of a eucalypt clearly trying to outdo its nearest neighbour – the architectural rubric cube in the Carlton Gardens.

The leaf pics are mine.

The slightly more ambitious works by Christo and Jeanne Claude can be found here

http://www.christojeanneclaude.net/blog

A fellow blogger, Dawn Whitehand, is a talented ceramicist and produces unique sculptural works which she often places in environmental settings.

A couple of lovely examples of her work – Water Spiral and Meditation Circle – are shown here.

Andy Goldsworthy is another superbly inspiring environmental artist (who Dawn is also inspired by).

There is a nice doco about Andy’s testing efforts to create his art here http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/andy-goldsworthys-rivers-tides/ He is described as a ‘Professor at Large’ with Cornell Uni on wikipedia. He says Art for me is a form of nourishment..’ which is so true.

 

18 thoughts on “Good art keeps you warm – Andy Goldsworthy and Environmental Art

  1. Ah, this is lovely – I’ve always liked works done outdoors that are temporary – or permanent – and include the elements that are already present. And thank you so much for the follow. I do hope you enjoy some of my posts & photography. Those look like eucalyptus leaves, but they seem colored – or did that happen by itself? obviously it’s not a plant that I get to see everyday where I live!

    Like

    • Hi Lynn – Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. The leaves were from eucalypt trees but I need to go back and see if I can find which species. Although they’re not deciduous, some eucalypts do get these highly painted leaves in autumn / winter probably for the same reason that the sugar content changes. Very beautiful.

      Like

  2. You had a great idea with the eucalyptus leaves creations – photos; environmental art is something new for me but always glad to learn some more…

    Like

    • Thanks – I knew a little bit about this area but it wasn’t something I thought about doing myself. Once you do go through as a process and learn more about other artists’ ideas, it’s really interesting and I think it’s something quite challenging for conventional artists (in a good way).

      Like

      • I will look more into this for sure – following your links. Somehow sounds very appealing to me. Only if I would have more free time…

        Like

      • Yes you have to steal time – delegate all housework and work late into the night is the best I can advise. I have a nice hour on a half to wait while my son goes to dance class, so I use that to do some art whenever I can.

        Like

  3. What an inspiring post and good for you taking up the challenge 🙂

    Chas, please accept my apologies for not having visited your blog for a while. I’ve been ‘off radar’ for a month but am now back! I’ll try and catch up with your posts that I’ve missed soon. Love Lottie xx

    Like

    • Hi Lottie – so nice to hear from you. Assumed you might have been out and about. I’m looking forward to a couple of quieter weeks at work so will be in touch properly soooon.

      Like

    • Hi Dawn – well I feel like a bit of a philistine actually. It just shows that spending a little more time to really look at different works and thinking about the possible underlying views of the artist can add a completely new take on things. Just coming back again and looking more closely at how you’ve created and then placed your works is a new insight for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

