The humble washing up

Continuing with the theme of humble things as painted in the kitchen. (See the recent humble turnips)

Since everyone instagrams their cupcakes and smart food I thought it was only fair to record the washing up which no-one cares much about.

Funny ending – I was on one side of the bench in ‘painting mode’ and was pretty close to finishing the main ideas in the painting,

then I walked around to the other side of the bench and went into ‘cleaning mode’ and put my still-life in the dishwasher.

As a result it’s a bit overworked – trying to work out what I was looking at.  

The humble dishes

The humble dishes by Chas Spain April 2013

6 thoughts on “The humble washing up

    • Hi so much Janina -Thanks – sorry for taking a while to reply- I’ve been away for a bit. It’s a familiar scene for most of us at the end of the day but very under-reported… :>

      Like

    • Excellent. It made me realize that the whole two sides of your brain thing is so true. One minute I’m doing something creative with the right side buzzing away – next minute I’m straight back into left side mode of functional tasks (although I guess a newt with a brain stem operates pretty much on that level.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

